#FoodFriday: Not Your Grandma’s Pancakes

IMG_2691

I’m sure we can all think back to a time when our granny whipped us up a nice pile of fluffy Bisquik pancakes on a warm easy like Sunday morning.

Or, if you had a baller grandma like mine, she made them from scratch.

That’s right. Baking soda, flour (sifted, obvi), eggs…you know the drill.

IMG_2786
Back when I baked, cut my own bangs, and had a black eye.

Those were the best days, am I right? Waking up to all the smells of all the foods and sleepily making your way down to the kitchen only to find the dining table completely set. Everything’s warming in the oven and the only thing that’s missing is you.

We’de shamelessly pour syrup all over that big ol’ stack of flapjacks cause back then our little growing bodies happily welcomed and processed an entire cup of pure liquid sugar.

Speaking of syrup, when my mom was a little girl she grew up on a farm that had maple trees. So, when the sap is harvested from the trees, a tube is stuck in the tree trunk and a bucket is hung from the tube to receive the slow dripping liquid. But the sap that comes straight from the tree isn’t like the syrup in the bottle. It has to be boiled down to a concentrate before it even tastes somewhat sweet. It takes like 100,000,000 buckets of the real deal to get one jar of syrup. Something crazy like that.

Anyway, one day my mom’s walking out back and sees that all the buckets are full of “water” and and dumps them all out (I know!!!) and then goes back home and tells my grandma what she did and of course, my grandma craps her pants and is like, “Susan, what have you done?!” and that’s how I learned how syrup is harvested.

Correction: it takes 40 gallons of sap to produce one gallon of maple syrup

Back to the pancakes.

IMG_2686

So if I’m being honest, I’m not really a pancake person. To me, they’re just kinda like soggy caked carb blobs. I mean, when I eat a meal, I need some good developed flavors and textures ya know?

I can’t do that sugar high no mo’.

But there are times when I do want a sweet treat, which is why I recently invented these totally bomb and totally nutritious pancakes (panfakes?) and I’m obsesssssssed with them. Lately, I have been eating them for one meal at least once a day (guilty confession I ate these pancakes for lunch and dinner yesterday…and maybe the day before too).

IMG_2678

So pancake fans move over and let these easy peasy guiltless panfakes blow your mind.

High Protein Low Carb Gluten-Free Pancakes

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 tablespoon of chia
  • 1 tablespoon of ground flax
  • 1 tablespoon of PB2 (optional)
  • 3 tablespoons of water
  • 1 shake of stevia or other sweetener
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 egg whites
  • 3/4 tablespoon of oil
  • Toppings of your choice
  • Chocolate chips if that’s your thang

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Beat eggs and egg whites together.
  2. Mix chia, ground flax, stevia, and PB2 together with water. Let the mixture sit for about 10 minutes to let the chia and flax expand a little bit. Then, mix mixture together with eggs.
  3. Heat up an oiled skillet to medium/medium hot drop a 5-inch circle of batter. Once the outsides begin to cook and fluff up, flip your pancake and cook the other side.
  4. Top your pancakes with toppings of your choice! I like to use a dollop of PB2, almond butter and cinnamon.

This recipe serves one hungry girl and makes 3ish small/medium sized pancakes

Nutrition Facts (without toppings): 372 calories, 25 grams of protein, 11 carbs, 8 grams fiber, 26 grams of good healthy fat that will keep you full!

 

Leave a Reply

