#Food Friday: Chorreadas (Costa Rican Corn Pancakes)

I don’t want to fill all of your typical Wisconsinite stereotypes but it’s true.

I love beer.
I love cheese.
and I love corn.

They’re just all so delicious.

I’m sure that when you think of Wisconsin, things like craft beer, (crappy beer), cows, football, premium cheeses, and political inconsistency come to mind.

But what you might not know is Wisconsin is one of the top corn producing states in the nation.

Yup, I’m just a corn-fed girl in a corn-fed world.

In fact, one of my favorite things to do when I go home in the summer is visit a local farm near my house that has THE BEST sweet corn. Right in front of the farm sits a fresh vegetable stand that is filled to the brim with potatoes, squash, onions, tomatoes, kale, lettuce, and, you guessed it, sweet corn.

This veggie stand is the most adorable one stop shop for local produce. And, after you’re done picking out your produce all you need to do is put money in the lil pay box.

What warms the heart more than supporting a trustworthy country bumpkin’ farmer?

Gah, Wisconsin I miss ya.

Archivo_004

June, not only in Wisconsin but here in Costa Rica, is when mounds of corn begin to take over markets, grocery stores, and veggie stands.

You see, I love corn. I adore corn. But I’ve always had this love-hate relationship with corn because as both a messy eater and compulsive flosser, I try to avoid eating sloppy foods that get stuck in my teeth and all over my face, such as corn. Like seriously, get me a bib.

But recently, I tried a chorreada. And it changed everything.

What’s a chorreada?

A chorreada is a one(ish) ingredient corn-based recipe that’s oh-so-easy and simple to make. The word chorreada actually comes from the verb chorrearwhich means “to drip.” So get ready to drip that corn batter onto a steamy skillet and make yourself a tasty treat.

I’m tellin’ ya this slop free corn cake will BLOW YOUR SOCKS OFF and let you enjoy corn season all summer long without stressing about those dientes (teeth) and weightless kernels inconspicuously dribbling down your chin.

La Chorreada
A Costa Rica Corn Pancake

INGREDIENTS:

  • Corn
  • Water (just a lil)
  • Salt
  • Sugar (optional)
  • Oil for frying
  • Natilla / sour cream (optional)

DIRECTIONS:

1. With a sharp knife, de-kernel the uncooked corn cobs.

img_7188

Archivo_000 (1)

2. Add the kernels and a splash of water to a blender and blend until the kernels turn into a thick batter. Add a pinch of salt and water to liquefy the batter as needed.

Archivo_000 (4)

img_7191

3. Heat a non-stick skillet and add a small amount of oil to prevent your pancake from sticking. Spread a pancake-like amount of batter on your skillet and let the first side cook until golden crispy and flippable. Flip your corn-cake and let the other side get golden crispy too.

img_7189

4. Once your chorreada is cooked, top with salt, sugar or both. To serve it the “tico” way, add some sour cream on the top.  Serve immediately for best taste.

img_7197

Provecho!

Leave a Reply

