Música de Mi Vida: Julio

Music has been a very important part of my life as a Peace Corps Volunteer. It’s what I need when I’m feeling sad, it’s what I want when I’m feeling happy, it gets me through my runs and helps pass the time on any and every lengthy bus ride.

When I lived with my first host family during Pre-Service Training I would clean the house every Sunday with my mom and sisters and jam out to the radio. Since then, Latin music has really grown on me and has become an important part of connecting with the Latin language and culture.

In light of my newfound appreciation, I want to share some of the tunes I’ve been listening to while I’ve been in Costa Rica.

Hondo Agujero – Le Parody

I was half sleeping on the 5am bus listening to my Spotify Discovery Playlist when this song came on. It’s very eclectic and…interesting. But I dig it! I’m just such a sucker for the trumpets!

 

Nunca Es Suficiente – Natalia Lafourcade

This is one of the first Spanish songs I fell in love with. It has a great beat and the Natalia Lafourcade’s voice is so beautiful and smooooth. And she’s so cute.

 

 

Propuesta Indecente – Romeo Santos

Everyone in Costa Rica (and I’m pretty sure the Spanish speaking world) loves Romeo Santos. He’s the King of Bachata (El Rey de la Bachata, if you will), King of tight-lipped smiles and can rock an eazy breezy mustache (bigote, hehe) like no other.

Just last month, Jay-Z’s label Roc Nation launched Roc Nation Latino in effort to reach the Latin market and develop new Latin artists. Our boy Romeo was signed as the new CEO and he’s about to bring the heat. H to the Izzoooo!

 

 

Duele el Corazón – Enrique Iglesias 

Enrique Iglesis is alive and doing well. This video is a disaster but the song is good.

 

 

More Jams I’m Listening to Right Now (non-Español):

Hot Hands – Darius

I Need a Forest Fire – James Blake

Holla Mears – Made in Heights

Past Lives – BORNS

Cliff – Lapsley

Leave a Reply

